Free Auto Insurance Quotes!

Selct Your State

 



Auto Accident Insurance In Alabama

If you're looking for the best rates on auto accident insurance in Alabama, you're in the right place. With dozens of insurance carriers available, you'll find one that can give you the coverage you need at a price you can afford. Before you request an accident auto insurance quote, familiarize yourself with Alabama auto insurance requirements so you can get the coverage you need to meet the financial responsibility requirements of the state.

 

 

Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements in Alabama

Alabama's insurance laws require that motorists maintain a minimum amount of liability insurance for their vehicles.  The minimums are $20,000 for injury liability for one person, $50,000 for all injuries, and $25,000 for property damage.  These are just the absolute minimum requirements; auto insurance companies make many options available for increasing coverage.  Drivers can choose to add collision coverage to their policies as well as increase the coverage for medical coverage.  Additional protection can be purchased in the form of uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.

Alabama Underinsured and Uninsured Coverage

Different states have different insurance rules regarding coverage for accidents involving uninsured or underinsured motorists.  In Alabama, if you get into an accident with a driver who carries no insurance or only the minimum insurance required, your insurance carrier must pay the balance of expenses not covered by the other driver's policy.  However, insurance carriers offer uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage that you can purchase additional coverage for this type of event.  While some states require that this type of coverage be purchased, Alabama does not have that requirement.

Alabama Proof of Insurance

Alabama motorists are required to have proof of insurance in their possession each time they drive.  The best form of proof is the insurance card that is provided by your auto insurance carrier.  This card must be current and will contain your vehicle information, name, policy number, and effective and expiration dates of the policy.  Alabama insurance law also allows other forms of proof to be used.  These include a premium receipt issued by the insurance carrier, a temporary insurance card, the liability policy issued for the vehicle, a certificate of liability insurance policy, or a copy of a car rental agreement that specifies insurance coverage.

Alabama Penalties for Lack of Insurance

The Alabama Department of Revenue conducts periodic surveys to determine if vehicle owners have the proper liability insurance on their vehicles.  If proper insurance is not maintained, the vehicle registration will be suspended and the owner will have to pay a $100 registration reinstatement fee for the first suspension.  For additional reinstatements, the driver will have to serve a four-month registration suspension and pay a $200 reinstatement fee.  Registration will only be reinstated once the driver provides proof of liability insurance.